Reviews

May 13th, 2015

Never Standing Still (The Never Duet Book 1)

By Anie Michaels

Never Standing Still (The Never Duet Book 1)

Goodreads-Review-Barbara

I enjoyed this bittersweet love story between Kalli and Riot. Kalli is a costume designer and meets Riot a model/actor on the set of a rock band’s video. It is instant attraction for both of them; although, Kalli is not interested in developing any relationships. She is all about her work and any free time is spent rushing back to her home to be with and care for her brother Marcus. She is the only family he has and the responsibility of this weighs heavily on her shoulders.

Riot is persistent and eventually pulls down some of the walls she has built around herself to let him in. Between both of them traveling to different cities for their jobs, they really don’t get a lot of time to spend together and much of the relationship develops through texting and Skype. She has strong feelings for Riot but it takes her some time to explain her situation about her brother to him. She finally lets him meet Marcus and Riot was nothing but perfect with her brother. Loving, kind and everything Kalli could ever dream about since if he wanted her, Marcus was part of that package.

Unfortunately, since life isn’t always perfect, a tragedy occurs that makes Kalli turn away from Riot. He is heartbroken, he loves her and wants nothing more than to comfort her, but she closes herself off to him. I enjoyed this sweet love story and am looking forward to the second book to see what happens between Riot and Kalli.

Rosie’s Book Heaven was given an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

☆:*´¨`*:.☆(¯`*•.¸,¤°´`°¤,¸.•*´¯)☆:*´¨`**:.☆☆:*´¨`*:.☆(¯`*•.¸,¤°´`°¤,¸.•*´¯)☆

April 26th, 2015

Fall Out GirlFall Out Girl by L. Duarte

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Teenage years; the transitional stage from childhood to adulthood. Teenagers are carefree, moody, and peer pressure can be insurmountable. Senior year is the year to have fun and prepare for prom. But, for Luna this is not the case, she is just trying to survive and come out alive at the end.

Luna is tough, a badass drug pusher; nobody messes with her. She has no friends and that is just how she wants it. Everybody has a perception of Luna. She has a plan and what everybody else thinks about her is not important. She does not need any distractions. Her goal is only one: ESCAPE and take her cousin Jake with her. But who is she, really? She is trying to survive and get out of a really bad situation alive.

Caleb comes from a rich family; his father is the new judge in town. He is loving, a romantic, has a good heart and he is persistent. All the girls want Caleb, but Caleb seems to only want one girl, Luna. He is the one thing Luna does not need: a distraction! When Caleb walks into Luna’s life she starts to have feelings. He slowly starts to break down her walls and expose the real Luna.

There will be moments that you will not like Luna and there will be moments where you won’t like Caleb. But, read on.

This is a beautiful story about survival. A story about dealing with the bad that life throws at you. No matter how well thought out a plan is, always have a plan B, because things don’t always work out as you plan. It is a beautiful story; have your tissues ready because you will be crying. But hang-on, it is so worth it!

View all my reviews

•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*••*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•

 

March 29th, 2015

5-Stars

Shy Kinda LoveShy Kinda Love by Deanna Eshler

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is a beautiful, sad, happy story.

Shy is a strong young woman. Her childhood was tough. Growing up, the one person that was supposed to protect her let her down. Despite everything she has been through she has a loving heart, but it’s guarded. She keeps it safe deep down in her soul. She has lost so much in her life; she doesn’t let herself love others or get close, she knows she might lose it all any time. We see her grow and blossom into a stronger woman, accepting life on its terms.

Ryder is her protector, the one person that knows about her past and he will do anything to stop her hurting. He is the only person that deeply knows her and she cannot fool him. He pushes her limits; pushes her to live life in the now.

Keegan and Gemma the two friends that get Shy to move on. They don’t ask questions; they completely accept Shy. They make her laugh and love her unconditionally. Keegan is sassy and funny with no filter. Gemma is sweet and cheery. There is one scene where they are all sitting down at the table to eat and Keegan does something that just makes me laugh so hard and loud! No spoiler here, you will have to read the book to find out.

Then there are the boys, even Luke, the womanizer comes out looking good, But, Kade is the one. Beautiful, loving and patient Kade. He loves Shy fiercely and with his whole heart. He gives her his all and he takes everything she dishes out. There are moments that break him, but only to show how strong he really is.

This story touched me in a very deep and special way. I shed tears of joy and tears of sadness. There are sad and tender moments that made me cry. Then there are moments so funny that I burst out laughing loud and hard. Then there is the looming suspense and the past comes knocking; throwing everything off kilter. The turnaround had me holding my breath and I have a few new wrinkles on my forehead, But, it was worth it.

Shy Kinda Love is a must read. Love and patience will conquer fear.

I was provided with an ARC by the author in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

☆:*´¨`*:.•.¸¸.•´¯`•.♥♥.•´¯`•.¸¸.•..:*´¨`*:.☆☆:*´¨`*:.•.¸¸.•´¯`•.♥♥.•´¯`•.¸¸.•..:*´¨`*:.☆

March 18th, 2015

4-Stars

Crown's Chance at Love (Book 1 of Six Degrees Series)Crown’s Chance at Love by Mayra Statham

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Mike, Mike, Mike…you had me all over the place! I LOVED!! this story.. My heart broke from the beginning and tears were shed. I felt Sabrina’s pain. This is a beautiful story, full of love and hope. Sabrina goes from suffering a big loss, to going on with life; just because she has to. Then Mike bumps into her life and there is hope. Mike and Sabrina’s love story goes through many hoops and at moments, I wanted to reach into my kindle and slap some sense into Mike. Sabrina is a strong woman and says it like it is. Mike is a caring man, with a lot of guilt sitting on his shoulders. It’s great how Sabrina’s friends and family care for her and support her. My emotions went from sad, to giddy, to happy, to frustrated (with Mike!!) and finally I screamed “YOU FINALLY GOT IT!!” There are fun moments and emotional moments. Truly good story. This one is going on my “to read again” list.

I was provided with an ARC by the author in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews


 

March 1st, 2015

Zane (Inked Brotherhood, #3)Zane by Jo Raven

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

 

Zane: “I have no past and no family. I have no one; except for Emma, my adopted sister. And now she’s leaving me too.”

Zane is the caring soul of the Inked Brotherhood. He protects others, but hides his troubles from all. He is everybody’s strength, but inside he is crumbling. In book 3, we read about Zane; he is falling apart. But, he doesn’t let anybody in. I love Zane and thank you Jo Raven for making him so beautiful inside.

Dakota has her own demons to deal with, but she is a fighter and pushes on. Dakota was perfect; she lovingly pushed and slowly broke down his walls.

In part 3, the Inked Brotherhood comes together to help Zane when he crashes. They are family and in his darkest moment; they all pull together to help the one that has helped them all.

View all my reviews


 

 

January 4th, 2015

5-Stars

Obliterate (Havoc, #2)Obliterate by Autumn Grey

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Obliterate (Havoc, #2) by Autumn Grey
Autumn Grey

I am moving to Paris to find Remington St. Germain. I didn’t think I could love Remington more and I was wrong. Obliterate, Book 2 of the Havoc series by Autumn Grey is just, totally and undoubtedly hotter and better. Remington gives Selene the space she needs, but he does not let her go. What makes this story one of the best I’ve read is that the feelings between Selene and Remington feel so real. The conflict between them is not petty, it is deep and meaningful. They both know it’s for only three months, but they can’t give up on their feelings.

This story just got hotter and the suspense more thrilling; we are still in the dark but we get some clues. Who is it? And why?

Selene’s confidence keeps getting stronger and bolder (Nope, no spoiler here; just a little tease):

“What are you wearing under these jeans?”
“Nothing.”
His lips parted and air rushed out. “Nothing?”
I nodded. “Want to know why?”
“I’m sure your reason will probably kill me, but yes, please. Tell me,” he said indulgently.
“I………………….” You will find out when you read it!

The ending will leave you hanging and tears will be shed, again. This story has everything:love, passion, scorching hot sex, funny bantering, sass, suspense, and thrill. Mend is around the corner and I cannot wait to see where Autumn Grey will take us.

I was provided with an ARC by the author in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Simple

Image by Cool Text: Free Logos and ButtonsCreate An Image Just Like This

December 30th, 2014

5-Stars

Havoc (Havoc, #1)Havoc by Autumn Grey

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Havoc: great confusion or disorder; chaos disruption.

Selene and Remington walk into each other’s life and that is exactly what they create. This is a beautiful love story. Two wonderful people guarding their hearts not wanting to get hurt again; but they were not expecting to find each other.

Selene Michaels is a strong woman that has been devastated by loss in her life. She picks herself up and goes off to Paris to find herself and have some fun. She is witty, charming and beautiful. Her self-confidence had taken a back seat, but it starts to come forward again.

Remington St. Germain is a strong, hot and confident man. He goes after what he wants and doesn’t take no for an answer. He is a loving and caring father; he doesn’t do things halfway. He is not easily dissuaded; he is a fierce protector.

Adrien, Remington’s son is full of laughter and happiness; he touches a soft spot in Selene.

The chemistry between Selene and Remington is undeniable. Autumn Grey does an excellent job pacing the story and with the development of Selene’s and Remington’s relationship. The words gripped me and I became completely immersed in the story. This is a feel good story with a dose of danger. Some tears will be shed. Such is life and one of the reasons I love this story so much. This is one I am going to read again.

I was provided an ARC by the author in exchange for an honest review. It is now one of my top favorites and I have purchased a copy.

View all my reviews

Simple

December 28th, 2014

4-Stars

Addict (Cravings, #1)Addict by Rachael Orman

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I picked up this book and did not put it down until I was finished. Alix is a sex addict and John is a sex therapist addicted to control. They desire each other from afar. The story takes a turn when Alix accompanies a co-worker to a BDSM club and John sees her there. He decides to approach her and invites her back. To say this book is hot is an understatement. The meetings at the BDSM club between John and Alix are hot and erotic. Two addicts find what they need in each other;submission and domination. The end leaves us wanting more and there will be more. I can’t wait to continue Alix & John’s journey.

I was provided with an Advanced Reading Copy in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Simple

4-Stars

Forever Kinda Love (Lovelly, #1)Forever Kinda Love by Clara Stone

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A sweet and beautiful romance.

Ace and Heath meet as children under sad circumstances and become each other’s rock. From the moment they met they make a connection and become best friends. The story takes place in their last year of high school. They realize that their feelings for each other are deeper; but don’t want to risk losing their friendship. This story takes you through their journey of discovery, true love and trust.

Ace is a happy, sexy, strong young woman. She is a no nonsense girl.
Heath is sweet, hot and very protective of Ace.

They work through their feelings and just when things seem to be working out, a life changer hits them. Ace receives some devastating news and she doesn’t want to share the news with Heath. This part gets very emotional. My heart broke for both of them. I felt for Ace and understood why she would not tell Heath. Heath does not disappoint. He is the perfect friend and the perfect boyfriend. He comes through as only a true, forever kinda love can.

Clara Stone takes us through this beautiful story with a true connection to the characters. This is one book that I will be recommending. It’s a beautiful read and one you will not put down until you finish.

View all my reviews

Simple

5-Stars

Beautiful Outlaw (Savage Outlaws MC #1)Beautiful Outlaw by Emily Minton

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I have been turned on to MC books! I was taken in by this story from the moment I started reading. My Kindle went with me everywhere; including into the kitchen while making dinner. I could not put it down!!! There were moments where my heart was racing and I couldn’t read fast enough; I was anxious to find out what was going to happen next. Thank you Emily Minton, you have made me an MC reader! I just downloaded your other books. I can’t get enough.

Laura (Gwendolyn) had sacrificed her life to help her parents, specifically her ill mom. Until she reached the breaking point and she reaches out to her brother for help. Although they were once close, due to her situation (it was one messed up situation) the relationship with her brother was nonexistent. After she opens up and lets him in on the reality of her life, he does not hesitate to help her. He reaches out to his best friend Bowie, VP of Savage Outlaws MC.

She becomes Shay. The story takes us through her transition to become herself again. At first Bowie is distant, but soon discovers he wants her. I love how he decides to make Shay his woman and “f*ck the consequences”. He is commanding and takes what he wants. He has the most beautiful dirty mouth! But, he has a good heart and a soft spot when it comes to family and friends. There were moments of angst that had me biting my nails. The climax just about blew me off!

I don’t like to go into too many details or a full recount of the story. I want others to read it and enjoy it without any spoilers. I’ve revealed enough to let those that read this review know that it’s a f*ck*ng GOOD story. Read it and you will love it!

View all my reviews

Frosty

Image by Cool Text: Free Graphics GeneratorEdit Image

 

November 14th, 2014

MC Chronicles: The Diary of Bink Cummings: Vol 1MC Chronicles: The Diary of Bink Cummings: Vol 1 by Bink Cummings

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was my first MC book and I freaking loved it! I want Big; I just totally fell for him. He is total Alpha and hot. The main reason I like this book is because it’s told by the author based on her real life experience. It is steamy and emotional. Bink tells us about life in a Motorcycle Club; her place in the MC is different than the other women, she is not a club w*ore and she is not claimed. Big refers to her as their “Queen” the brothers protect her and love her. Things get complicated when Big D*ck starts showing feelings for Bink that confuse her and even more confusing for her, she starts to feel the same. The author did a great job telling the story with enough details to paint the picture, but not overdone. The last scene outside of Big’s room was heart wrenching for me; I could feel her pain. The ending leaves us wondering what will happen next in Bink’s new life, away from the club. I am anxiously waiting for book 2.

I was provided with a complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

November 11th, 2014

4-Stars

The Duality PrincipleThe Duality Principle by Rebecca Grace Allen

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I loved and enjoyed this book; it’s a fun, sexy read. I finished reading it last night and I’ve gone back several times to read different sections that I totally love! It is one of those books that you keep thinking about after you read it and the scenes play out in your head, bringing a smile to your lips.

Gabriella Evans is smart, blond, nerdy, logical and pretty. She is attending M.I.T. working on her PhD in mathematics. But, there is a side of Gabriella that nobody seems to know or understand. She keeps this side hidden and bottled up. She wants to explore and bring out her naughty side, the rebel with a piercing, a tattoo, and lusting after a bad boy on a motorcycle. Her hidden side wants wild sex, dirty talk, spanking, hair pulling; and to have fun in a public place. She hasn’t been able to find a man that can enjoy or bring out her hidden side; a man that can make her lose control.

Connor Starks is tall, brown hair, blue eyes; with curly chin length hair. This bad boy is trying hard to be good. He wants his past to stay in the past. He feels he needs to hide his bad boy side. After meeting Gabriella, he feels that the only way he can be with her is by being a good guy, a gentleman.

This is a beautiful story of 2 people trying to be true to themselves, but end up hiding for fear of rejection. Sometimes others see us for who we are; better than we see ourselves. Gabriella’s friend, Jamie, sets her up with Connor. As you read the story you will find out why. Connor’s grandmother lets him know it’s OK to be yourself, especially with the right person. Rebecca Grace Allen does a fantastic job writing this story; it engages you from the beginning. I loved all the characters and I definitely loved the Principle of Duality, the naughty and nice! I would love to read more of Gabby and Connor.

I was provided with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews
Frosty

November 6th, 2014

5-Stars

Always Yours (Always, #2)Always Yours by Kari March

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is a very touching and loving story. Made me cry and laugh. When Cam and Cara catch each other’s eyes across the bar, they can’t deny the pull. The chemistry between them is HOT; and the connection they share is hard to resist. They each have had their heart broken and were abandoned by someone they loved. The interaction between Cam and Cara is very natural. They talk freely and the banter between them is very funny. Despite all this, the progression of their relationship is not immediate. Cam’s past holds him back from totally committing to Cara; and although Cara wants the relationship to progress to the next stage, she doesn’t vocalize it because of her fear of abandonment.

When Cam’s past comes back into the picture this story takes some heart wrenching turns. Just when you think everything is going to work out between Cam and Cara, something happens. My heart was hurting at all the turn of events. The surprise revealed had my mind reeling. This is a great love story; a story that shows that the road to true love is not always a straight road. But, true love will survive all the twists and turns.

The supporting characters in the story played important roles without overshadowing Cam and Cara. Shay is Cara’s best friend and her sounding board. Her mother is her strength and shows her that one can move on and find happiness. Cam’s buddies are there for him to listen and support him; not afraid to tell him the truth.

I LOVED…LOVED…LOVED this story and recommend it. You will not want to put it down; every turn of event hooks you to continue to find out how it turns out. Cam and Cara both have a beautiful heart; I fell in love with them. Their struggle will tug at your heart.

I was provided with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Frosty

 

October 30th, 2014

Not Yet

Not Yet by Laura Ward

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book took me in completely; I was hanging out at the pool with Emma and Landon. What a beautiful story. I felt I was part of the story and the characters were my neighbors.

Emma is a young, strong and independent woman that had to grow up fast. She is very dedicated to her family; three women abandoned by the man in their lives. Growing up without a father and watching her mother struggle to make ends meet while raising Emma and her older sister. Emma has closed herself behind a wall; she didn’t want any distractions and she did not trust men.

In comes Landon; hot, confident and flirtatious. Emma is not impressed; at least that is what she tells herself. But, she slowly starts thinking of Mr. Cool in ways she’d rather not. Emma and Landon get to know each other during the summer. Emma realizes there is more to Landon than her initial assessment. Together they grow, change, and learn. We see Landon find his true self and Emma learns to trust and letting things happen without her having to be in control. Is this just a summer fling?

This story is about true unconditional love, acceptance and loyalty. Unconditional love: Landon will do anything and everything for Emma. Acceptance: accepting others, no matter if they are different. Learning to stand up for those who need a voice. Loyalty: family and friends who do not turn their back on those they love.

A truly beautiful story; beautifully written. I love the lessons learned at the end of each chapter. This is one of those stories that stay in your heart. It will make you smile. But, there is also a shocking turn in the story that totally surprised me!

I was provided with a review copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Frosty

October 26th, 2014

Sinful Desires Vol. V (Sinful Desires, #5)Sinful Desires Vol. V by M.S. Parker

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
I have loved every single book I’ve read by M.S. Parker and this was no exception. Sinful Desires is a 5 part series. Although Piper attended an expensive private school; she did not belong and was not part of the elite. Her life after graduation is not what she dreamed it would be. After attending her high school reunion and ending up in bed with her high school crush, things don’t get better. But sometimes in life we have to go through the bad to find the good. Each book in the series ends with a hell of a cliffhanger and some shockers! It all wraps out nicely in book 5. You never know when and where you will find true love! The ending was perfect! Would love a continuation……

I was provided with advance review copy in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews
Frosty
October 19th, 2014

Sins & Mistrust (The Escort Series Book 3)

 

Sins & Mistrust (Escort, #3)Sins & Mistrust by Isabel Lucero

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Hot turn on – You will feel your body heat up
5 HOT & SIZZLING STARS

I want to start by saying, that I never read a book with M/M, this was my first. It freaking turn me on very much! This book is one that you will want to read with no interruptions; so settle into your reading cave and don’t plan on coming out until you are done with it. You might need to take a couple of breaks to fan yourself; the heat I felt was off the charts, I actually felt myself flushing and my heart rate increase. IT WAS ORGASMIC!!!

The connection and the bond between the characters pull the story in nicely:

Nathalia – A strong woman works with her father in the hotel business. Very open minded and not afraid to try new experiences.

Lincoln – Owns several clubs; including a sex club. Handsome, confident and goes after what he wants. Not a shy fellow.

Marc – An escort, not ashamed of what he does; comes from a loving and supportive family. But, there is a side to him his friends don’t know about.

Nathalia hires Marc to be her escort on a regular basis. Marc starts opening up to Nathalia as she tries to get to know his real side, not the escort persona. Their relationship progresses beyond client/escort.

Nathalia and Lincoln love each other. They have not been able to take their relationship to the next level because of a rule Lincoln has in place. When Lincoln sees Nathalia with Marc, things start to change. Lincoln wants to take it to the next level. The chemistry between Lincoln and Marc is explosive; but you can also feel the deep connection. With two hot Alpha males, the heat rolls off the Kindle. Isabel Lucero does a great job bringing out the connection and the feelings between all three.

Although the sex in this book is incredible; there is more. It’s about acceptance and honesty. It’s about not being afraid to be yourself. Throughout the story you will find where the characters opt for honesty rather than hiding in fear of the reaction. Marc is pleasantly surprised by his friends’ acceptance when he finally opens up to them. Just because it’s not the norm or others frown upon something, it doesn’t mean it’s wrong. The dynamics of this relationship is not for all, but it is enviable, hot and sexy! So grab this book and go hide in you reading cave, you will enjoy it!

View all my reviews

Frosty

 

October 5th, 2014

Tyler (Inked Brotherhood, #2)Tyler by Jo Raven

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Inked Brotherhood continues…..WOW compelling and heart wrenching.

Tyler (Inked Brotherhood Book 2)

Tyler, WOW!! What a guy. Tyler made the decision to leave home thinking it would be for the best. He abandoned his little brother Asher and his girlfriend, Erin. He comes back wanting to make things good between them and it’s not an easy decision. The relationship between him and Asher is non-existent; Asher wants nothing to do with him. Erin still loves him, but how can she forgive him, he just left.

Book 2 reveals Tyler’s suffering, his hell, and his demons. All I can say: what a great guy. He had a very tough past. This story is very real, deals with abuse at the hands of someone you are supposed to trust. He had no one to protect him. Sometimes we make decisions thinking they are for the best, only to find out they were not. How do we take these decisions back? How do those that were affected by your decision forgive?

Read this book, it is a compelling and realistic story. Jo Raven continues with the stories of the Inked Brotherhood in a beautiful and compassionate way. Although these stories are stand-alone, I find it best to start with Book 1, the story of Asher. They are intertwined; it will give you better understanding of all the characters and what makes them who they are. Not necessary and you won’t be lost if you don’t read them in order, but reading them all will enrich your experience.

View all my reviews

October 5th, 2014

Asher (Inked Brotherhood, #1)Asher by Jo Raven

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Bad boys to love! A beautiful story. A MUST READ!!!!

Asher (Inked Brotherhood Book 1)

A group of friends, 5 young men and 5 young women; bound together by their friendship, love and suffering. They have flaws and are broken. Book 1 introduces us to Asher and Audrey. They used to be best friends; he was her first kiss and then he turned his back on her and broke her heart. Tragedy strikes and Audrey moves away, returning after 3 years. Time and distance should ease feelings and desires; Audrey soon finds out that is not the case.

Asher covers up his suffering with the bad boy persona, but that is only his way of dealing with the abuse. Deep down he is still that boy that Audrey kissed. When Audrey comes back they slowly work their way back to each other. It’s not an easy path and there will be moments of anxiety.

Jo Raven has written a beautiful and real story. It is a heart wrenching story full of hope. The writing flows nicely and draws you in. The other characters are introduced, giving us a glimpse of their stories to come.

Buy this book today, you will fall in love with the Inked Brotherhood and hold them in your heart.

View all my reviews

 

Frosty

September 28th, 2014

Love, Always

five-stars

This story will tug at your heart. When I read the Synopsis for this book, I was not sure if I wanted to read it. I felt it was going to be a tear jerker. It tells you from the beginning:

During Wasted Circle’s first big show, tragedy strikes leaving Dee alone. The life she and Josh planned for ends up being nothing but desolate promises.

I didn’t want to put myself through the crying and the sadness. But, I don’t like to give up on a book; especially without giving it a chance. I am so glad I read this book. Once I started, I did not put it down. It flows very nicely. The characters are young; they all share loss and that creates a bond.

Dee’s loss is her parents; they never wanted her and are never around. They are emotionally detached. Dee grew up being cared by Nannies. Her character develops from being selfish and self-absorbed to learning to care for others.

Josh brings them together, he is the glue. He and Adam are best friends and bandmates; he is Dee’s boyfriend. Josh’s parents are never around and he takes to Adam’s mom as his own. He brings life back to Adam and his mom.

Adam carries the burden of his father’s death and his mom’s grieving. He feels emotionally abandoned and guilty. He is the caregiver; always taking care of others. Adam stands by Dee; he lovingly and selflessly takes care of her and the baby.

Hayley and Max are Dee’s friends and are and odd pair. They all meet at the psychiatric ward. Hayley brings laughter and reality back into Dee’s life.

Yessi Smith has written a sad, but beautiful love story. It is a story about unconditional true love and loyalty. It’s about how people come into your life for a reason; at the right time. It’s about losing someone you love and grieving. About learning to let them go and have them live in your heart. It tells us it’s ok to love again and move on. I wholeheartedly recommend this book.

Frosty

Image by Cool Text: Free Graphics GeneratorEdit Image

September 23rd, 2014

Chasing Perfection Vol. 3

five-stars

The final episode of DeVon and Krissy. Both are strong characters and neither wants to relinquish the power. When these two met in book 1 they fought the connection and the attraction they felt. Finally giving in to their desire, they had an out of this world sexual encounter. They clash and fight; they battle for power; giving it and taking it. Their relationship never takes off due to this struggle and their inability to give in to their feelings. Book 2 ends when DeVon feels regret that he had made Krissy feel she had to bed Carter in order to seal the deal. He decides to go after her and is shocked/devastated/fuming when Krissy opens Carter’s door in only a robe. In this final episode they continue to fight their feelings and attraction to each other. They break down the barriers and move towards each other. I love their interaction and how passionate they both are. This is a beautiful story of 2 people that learn to trust again and to give in to their feelings. They learn the rewards of letting go and opening up the heart. I would love to have more of DeVon and Krissy’s journey. A beautiful, sexy and very hot romance.

Burning

September 8th, 2014

 

One, Two, Three

 

five-stars

 

This is the story of Natalya, she is focused on her dancing, she knows what she wants, and becoming a ballerina is her life. Everything changes on one fateful day, her dream of becoming a ballerina is shattered and her life takes a drastic turn. Natalya moves with her mother to her deceased grandmother’s home in the small lake town where she used to spend her summers. She feels abandoned and alone; she builds walls around herself and keeps everybody at a distance. She doesn’t want to expose her home life or her mother’s drinking problem to others. She is hungry for her mother’s love; but her mother is lost in her guilt and her bottle.

 

Natalya is scarred (in more ways than one) and doesn’t let others get close. She just wants to dance and be left alone. Becca and Natalya spent their summers together at the lake; they had made a pact that they were “Sirens for Life”. Their friendship is strained because Natalya doesn’t want to open up and confide in Becca. Natalya realizes that she had been so focused on her dancing, that she had forgotten how to be a friend; together they mend their friendship. Tonio is handsome, confident and has a good heart; he is the star soccer player. He approaches Natalya and slowly she opens up to him. She opens her heart and allows her feelings for Tonio to surface. Camilo, is the wayward friend; he used to be in the soccer team and he used to be close to Tonio. But, there is bad blood between them due to some bad decisions on both parts.

 

This story is about love, friendship, hope and second chances.  Love helps healing to take place. When Natalya allows herself to feel for Tonio and lets him in her heart, she finds happiness. True friendship is always there no matter what; Becca was there ready to lend an ear, ready with a hug, ready to hold Natalya’s hand and hold her up when she crumbled. In turn Natalya became the friend she had forgotten to be.  Natalya has hopes of mending her relationship with her mother after she seeks help. Second chances allow for new beginnings and new dreams.

 

I loved this story; from the moment I started reading I was captivated. The author, Elodie Nowodazkij, writes a fluid story. One that is well written and easy to follow. There were moments where I cried: when Natalya ran out of her house after a confrontation with her mother and goes to the lake to dance. When her mother hurls ugly words at her. When she needs her mother’s love and it’s not there. When she turns to the bottle to hide her pain. Then there were moments of happiness: when Natalya and Tonio kiss for the first time. When they go on their first date. The School dance. The pranks and bets between Tonio and James result in some funny moments. This is a beautiful story, one that will stay in your heart.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
*****************************************
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

August 30th, 2014

All the Right Things (Love in LA Book 2)

4 STARS

Had to read it immediately after I finished reading Book 1 (see my post on Book 1). Annie’s luck in finding love has not been good. She keeps looking for a man that will love her and make her feel special. Meeting Casey, when she least expected. I admire Annie for not giving up, picking herself up and pushing on. Casey is sweet, loving and a dancer, yes a dancer.????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????  Their relationship develops slowly (at least slower). I fell in love with Casey and now I cant wait for Book 3 and find out what awaits this couple, as they both continue on their journey as a new couple and following their dreams. Fun and light reading.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
*****************************************
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Love in All the Wrong Places (Love in LA Book 1)

4 STARS

Loved this book and immediately read Book 2 – Annie is 25, tall and beautiful, but hasn’t had much luck finding love. Some might say she gives up the goods too soon. She decides to try online dating and meets some interesting men. I will let you decide. It’s a fun book. It is a series; Book 1 and 2 are out, but Book 3 won’t be out until Fall 2014 (don’t know date yet).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
*****************************************
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

August 26th, 2014

The Project

4 STARS

I don’t like to give spoilers or re-tell the story. This is a steamy short story. Monty decides to start writing to help her financial situation and reaches out to one of her previous professors, Liam. The story moves at a nice pace with no complication or drama. It’s a nice read while you are waiting at the doctor’s office, you just might squirm a bit on your seat. You never know when your desires will come true. I will let you read the rest.
Burning

July 6th, 2014

five-stars
Sand and Clay: Her Forbidden Rockstar (Sand & Clay, #1)Sand and Clay: Her Forbidden Rockstar by Sarah Robinson

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This story drained me and made my heart ache. After the ending of Logan’s Story, I was excited to read Sand & Clay. I totally loved both books. But, I have to admit, I was hoping Sand & Clay would take a different turn, call me a hopeless romantic, I was hoping for what did not happen ( I don’t want to give away anything). This book again showed Clay’s good heart and loyalty. He struggles to get what he really wants and he struggles with his loyalty.There were moments I wanted to reach into the book and take Logan into my arms. My heart took a hard beating with this story. I wanted Gina to change (I wanted to beat her on the side of the head) and I truly wanted it to work out with Turner (I cried). I don’t like it when good guys get hurt. But, the author did a good job with the turn of events. I am glad I read Logan’s Story first. Have some tissue when you read this one and protect your Kindle, there are moments you might want to throw it against the wall. I loved the ending, it was the only way to go.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>